College Retrospective

May 24, 2010

Fast Food Math

Filed under: Living Life Healthy, Random — johnyourk @ 8:01 pm

Well, I Lied.

I said I was going to get on this article really soon a while back, but I didn’t. I said it would be my next article, but it wasn’t. But I now realize I don’t eat at fast food joints as much as I thought I did. So I’m really not as fat as I think.

But just recently I went to a Burger King and a McDonald’s restaurant to get the prices of their basic burgers. Here they are:

McDonald’s

Hamburger: .86

Cheeseburger: .97 cents

McDouble: 1.00

Double Cheeseburger: 1.29

Analysis: Well, if you do the math, there is no price system for each individual item that makes up the burger. In each burger compared to another, the price of a slice of cheese or a beef patty change depending on which ones you compare. And it only confuses you more if you try to figure it out

     For example, look at the Double Cheeseburger and the McDouble; difference of one extra piece of cheese and a price difference of 29 cents. Or the Hamburger to Cheeseburger is an 11 cent difference.

     Beef patty-wise, look at the McDouble to Cheeseburger: 3 cent difference for a piece of beef.

There are a lot of ways you can spin the numbers(trust me, I’ve done it and it doesn’t look pretty), but the easiest and most visible way to do it is by its meat and cheese.

Burger King

Hamburger: .99

Cheeseburger: 1.09

Buck Double: 1.00

Double Cheeseburger: 1.29

Analysis: This is even weirder than McDonald’s math. Hamburger(which has one less piece of cheese and beef) is a 1 cent difference in price to the buck double. The Cheeseburger to the buck Double is a strange -9 cent difference. It has less but costs more, and in this case, less is not more(in price it is though). And a piece of Cheese is 29 cent comparing the Buck Double to the Double Cheeseburger.

I could go on, but I don’t want to. I find it extremely odd that the prices are the way they are. I probably sound like a senior citizen counting pennies like a miser and going as far to write a blog article and do research on such a petty thing. I have to admit I do sound a little cheap.

     But I’m not looking at it from a single consumer’s point of view of a point of view defending logic and also from an economical point of view. This bad math is turning a big profit for each little penny that is spent by ignorant consumers. It may not seem like a lot or something that isn’t making an effect, but it is. It’s like water erosion. Each person who opts for the more expensive(yeah, I’m using the word expensive to describe dollar-items) item is likely to end in minor profits thats go a long way.

Even Scrooge, was rich because of his miserly attitude.

     Whoever these economists are that made up the pricing system, must’ve been horrible dart players that had prices on a dart board and each dart was a dollar-item, and they threw blind-folded. I know I really shouldn’t get worked up over this, but it just was funny to me, the prices.

3 Comments »

  1. hi wats your myspace page

    Comment by what does my name mean — May 26, 2010 @ 2:46 am

    • I don’t have a myspace of facebook page. I used to have one of each. But they took too much time from my day, and I didn’t know half my friends. So I deleted my page. Sorry if I let you down.

      Comment by johnyourk — May 26, 2010 @ 5:00 pm

    • Actually, I lied. I do have a facebook page, but I just created it and didn’t really go any farther than that.

      Comment by johnyourk — May 26, 2010 @ 7:03 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

